Boards, Commissions & Committees

Planning Commission

To successfully fulfill the functions and duties as provided by the Land Use Article of the Maryland Annotated Code.

About the Land Use Article
In 2012, the Maryland General Assembly repealed Article 66B and Article 28 and replaced it with the Land Use Article. The State of Maryland entrusts local jurisdictions with land use planning authority to guide growth and development through the Land Use Article. The statute outlines the responsibilities, roles, and functions of the planning commission and sets the ground rules for planning and zoning powers.

Members (alphabetical by last name)
Chris Coliukos (Chair)
Rob McLarnon (Vice Chair)
Lee Adams
George Still
Chris Haley
Bill Staker
Rick Webster

Business (voting) Meetings are held at 6:30 pm the first Wednesday of every month. Workshops are held at 6:30 pm the third Wednesday of every month.

Planning Commission Ordinance & Permit Applications
The Comprehensive Development Ordinance and the Architectural Design Standards set forth the rules and regulations for development and construction projects within the Town of Chesapeake City. (Projects or proposals on properties located within the Historic District must be reviewed by the Historic Commission prior to being reviewed by the Planning Commission.)

Please read the applications carefully and call Town Hall at 410-885-5298 if you have any questions.

Plans, Ordinances & Maps

Meeting Agendas









Historic District Commission

To safeguard the local heritage by preserving the cultural, socio-economic, political and architectural elements of the Town’s Historic District.

Meetings are held at Town Hall on the 4th Tuesday of every month at 6:30 p.m.

Commission Members

Harriett Davis (Chair)
Karen Rita
Tracey Sampson
Elaine Shepard
Mark Huddleston
Frank Hill

Board of Appeals

The board of Appeals shall have the authority to:

  1. Hear and decide appeals from any order, requirement, decision, action, or determination made by the Zoning Administrator. The Board may reverse or affirm, wholly or partly, or may modify the order, requirement, decision or determination as ought to be made and to that end shall have powers of the Zoning Administrator from whom the appeal is taken. The Board of Appeals is only authorized to hear and decide on appeals of the Zoning Administrator and no other agency or body.
  2. Hear and decide Special Exceptions that have first obtained a favorable recommendation fro the Planning Commission as authorized under §2.2.7 of the Comprehensive Development Ordinance.
  3. Authorize a variance from the terms of the Ordinance as provided for in §2.2.5 of the Comprehensive Development Ordinance.

Board Members
Martin Salmon, Chair
Findley McCool
Brian Bluman
Cindy Ortt
Alan Myers
Andrea Driscoll – Alternate

Board of Appeals Application & Instructions

Board of Elections

Board Members
Harriett Davis, Chair
Debbie Miller
Anne Peacock
Bob Loller

Parks, Recreation & Environmental Committee

Purpose – To serve in an advisory capacity to Town Council on all park and recreation related projects and programs.

Plan for Proposed Improvements at Union Street Park (Click to view PDF)

Helen Titter Park Plan (Click to view PDF)

Meetings – The 2nd Tuesday of each month at Town Hall.

Councilperson Frank Vari
Gail Stevens

Committee Members Needed – Please contact Town Hall at 410-885-5298 if interested

Water & Sewer Advisory Committee

If you have a Water / Sewer Emergency please call the Town Hall during business hours at 410-885-5298.

After hours contact Water/Sewer Commissioner Mayor, Rich Taylor via email at:

If you experience a problem with the color, odor or tast of your water please take a sample in a clean plastic container and IMMEDIATELY place it in your refrigerator.  Call Town Hall at 410-885-5298 or during non business hours email Mayor, Rich Taylor (see above).